Cover Letter: The Final

I have come to my senses as of 10:43 pm December 11,2016 that I really need to do this assignment. Personally, I was basically hitting myself in the head multiple times [not literally but figuratively] that I should have finished this after class on Wednesday but instead knew it was due Monday but did it last minute anyways. Up to this point, all I can think of is not getting my priorities straight and not taking school seriously. In a short word, irresponsibility. Every time I go to this class, it was not hard to engage myself and listen to the lectures or reading journals that we were doing. I loved every minute of it because I was not distracted from everything else, I was focused. And then all of a sudden,  right as I walk out from those doors, it felt as if none of those things I learned existed. So why should I pass this class? I should not pass this class and it is the hard truth. It would be a lie to say I have done my best because it was my worst. I did have a potential to pass this second time around for English class and once again, I took it for granted.

Evolution as a writer: How have you evolved as a writer this semester? How have you met goals you set in the semester? I have evolved as a writer in a different way. Through all the years of going to school, the only thing I knew how to write was doing the standard five-paragraph structure. And to my surprise, this professor blew me away with many other options of writing styles. As a student, this class was unexpected. Unexpected because of how it was very unfamiliar to me. I may not be the best English speaker or writer out there, but a drastic change of outlook on writing was visible. Excluding the irresponsibility of turning in assignments on time or not doing it, I did expect a lot more from myself. I wanted to achieve an essay/report exceeding six pages.

 

Researcher: What have you learned about the research process?

The research process was a long and difficult road. Research process required a great amount of time of just sitting on the computer or reading articles for multiple hours. In high school, I thought researching was a breeze since everything was already provided for every student. In college, students were responsible for all the articles being used. A big step on independence was involved as well. I have done a large amount of research but did not organize it very well. By searching online, I could possibly get thousands if not, millions of articles to talk about and this is where the filtering comes. I have learned that not all websites are legitimately authentic or have an exact true story. Some may say things about Taylor Swift running for president but it was actually running for president of her fan club called “Swifties”. Basically, relying on just one side of the story may be fake.

Revision process: What revisions have you made to improve your essays this semester and why you felt they were wise revisions? Describe your revision strategies with specific detail.

-not applicable-

-Justine did not do any revision process this whole semester-

-instead wasted her time and procrastinated like what she is doing right at this moment-

 

Reading/Writing Process: What have you learned about the reading and writing processes? How have you progressed as a reader and writer over the course of the semester?

The reading process was awesome. I loved every single article that was given to us in this class. It actually made sense and sparked an interest in me. In the beginning, it was tough because I was not used to reading articles and responding to it but as the semester goes by I would go to work and read the articles on my break or lunch time just for fun. It was really nice to see that it was something that is actually happening in the world. The reading was my favorite, not only do I get to read topics that other professors may not have brought up before but every time I would think about the readings we have, most of the time I research about them more.

1C/Transfer/Career Readiness: Why do you believe you have learned the necessary skills this semester demonstrate success in English 1C/Transfer Career? How will the skills you learned in class translate to other classes or jobs?

Although I failed miserably in this class and accepted my fate, I believe having this class made me realize that there is something more to an English class. Not only we got to do the basics like write essays and read about stuff, we also got to do our own personalized blogs and basically incorporate technology in an English class full of tech-savvy students and professor. Those reading journals also gave space for students to type their thoughts on the reading about how they felt, or translate the text with their own opinions about it. The skills in typing on computers, turning things in online, using different writing styles, expressing critical thinking, collaborating with other people would definitely help me be successful in other classes or jobs. Being more open-minded as well will give me a big step to understanding other people’s concern and thoughts about certain topics and being aware of the things happening around me.

Leave a Reply

